A Visitation of Spirits

A Visitation of Spirits Author Randall Kenan
ISBN-10 0349105804
Year 1996-02-01
Pages 257
Language en
Publisher
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

By the author of Let the Dead Bury their Dead, this novel revolves around the history of a black family from the years of slavery to present times. The story focuses on two cousins, one who is a teacher and Baptist preacher and the other who is a brilliant scholar.

A Visitation of Spirits

A Visitation of Spirits Author Randall Kenan
ISBN-10 0385415052
Year 1990
Pages 257
Language en
Publisher Anchor
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Seduced by the dark side of his dreams, sixteen-year-old Harold Cross is overwhelmed and terrified when demons tear his soul from his body and take it on a journey through his past

Let the Dead Bury Their Dead

Let the Dead Bury Their Dead Author Randall Kenan
ISBN-10 0349107122
Year 1996-03
Pages 334
Language en
Publisher
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

This collection of short stories, brought together in the style of a novel, brings to life the hopes and fears of the people of Tims Creek, North Carolina from the time of slavery up to the present day.

Raising the Dead

Raising the Dead Author Sharon Patricia Holland
ISBN-10 0822324997
Year 2000-03-29
Pages 235
Language en
Publisher Duke University Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

DIVThrough a series of literary and cultural readings, argues that African-Americans have a special relation to death arising from their death-like social marginality./div

Beetlecreek

Beetlecreek Author William Demby
ISBN-10 1578061067
Year 1998
Pages 236
Language en
Publisher Univ. Press of Mississippi
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

First published in 1950, a highly praised novel about race relations in a West Virginia mining town focuses on the shared search of a white carnival worker and a black teenager for social acceptance, racial harmony, and personal fulfillment. Reprint. UP.

Ruby Oprah s Book Club 2 0 Digital Edition

Ruby  Oprah s Book Club 2 0 Digital Edition Author Cynthia Bond
ISBN-10 9780804188258
Year 2015-02-10
Pages 368
Language en
Publisher Hogarth
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The newest Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 selection: this special ebook edition of Ruby by Cynthia Bond features exclusive content, including Oprah’s personal notes, highlighted within the text; a reading group guide; and audio clips read by the author (supported devices only). The epic, unforgettable story of a man determined to protect the woman he loves from the town desperate to destroy her, this beautiful and devastating debut heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction. Ephram Jennings has never forgotten the beautiful girl with the long braids running through the piney woods of Liberty, their small East Texas town. Young Ruby Bell, “the kind of pretty it hurt to look at,” has suffered beyond imagining, so as soon as she can, she flees suffocating Liberty for the bright pull of 1950s New York. Ruby quickly winds her way into the ripe center of the city—the darkened piano bars and hidden alleyways of the Village—all the while hoping for a glimpse of the red hair and green eyes of her mother. When a telegram from her cousin forces her to return home, thirty-year-old Ruby finds herself reliving the devastating violence of her girlhood. With the terrifying realization that she might not be strong enough to fight her way back out again, Ruby struggles to survive her memories of the town’s dark past. Meanwhile, Ephram must choose between loyalty to the sister who raised him and the chance for a life with the woman he has loved since he was a boy. Full of life, exquisitely written, and suffused with the pastoral beauty of the rural South, Ruby is a transcendent novel of passion and courage. This wondrous page-turner rushes through the red dust and gossip of Main Street, to the pit fire where men swill bootleg outside Bloom’s Juke, to Celia Jennings’s kitchen, where a cake is being made, yolk by yolk, that Ephram will use to try to begin again with Ruby. Utterly transfixing, with unforgettable characters, riveting suspense, and breathtaking, luminous prose, Ruby offers an unflinching portrait of man’s dark acts and the promise of the redemptive power of love.

Visitation

Visitation Author Jenny Erpenbeck
ISBN-10 9780811219310
Year 2010-09-30
Pages 151
Language en
Publisher New Directions Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A bestseller in Germany, Visitation has established Jenny Erpenbeck as one of Europe’s most significant contemporary authors. A house on the forested bank of a Brandenburg lake outside Berlin (once belonging to Erpenbeck’s grandparents) is the focus of this compact, beautiful novel. Encompassing over one hundred years of German history, from the nineteenth century to the Weimar Republic, from World War II to the Socialist German Democratic Republic, and finally reunification and its aftermath, Visitation offers the life stories of twelve individuals who seek to make their home in this one magical little house. The novel breaks into the everyday life of the house and shimmers through it, while relating the passions and fates of its inhabitants. Elegant and poetic, Visitation forms a literary mosaic of the last century, tearing open wounds and offering moments of reconciliation, with its drama and its exquisite evocation of a landscape no political upheaval can truly change.

Walking on Water

Walking on Water Author Randall Kenan
ISBN-10 UOM:39015045974816
Year 1999
Pages 670
Language en
Publisher Knopf
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The account of a six-year journey across North America offers a sense of the state of race relations

The Sweet Everlasting

The Sweet Everlasting Author Judson Mitcham
ISBN-10 0820318078
Year 1996
Pages 194
Language en
Publisher University of Georgia Press
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Reflects on the tragic life of Ellis Burt, who lost both of his parents by the age of sixteen, saw his best friend tortured and murdered, and lost his wife and son after committing a single stupid act

The Book of Colors

The Book of Colors Author Raymond Barfield
ISBN-10 9781609531164
Year 2015-04-20
Pages 224
Language en
Publisher Unbridled Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

How can a 19-year-old, mixed-race girl who grew up in a crack house and is now pregnant be so innocent? Yslea is full of contradictions, though, seeming both young and old, innocent and wise. Her spirit is surprising, given all the pain she has endured, and that's the counterpoint this story offers—while she sees pain and suffering all around her, Yslea overcomes in her own quiet way. What Yslea struggles with is expressing her thoughts. And she wonders if she will have something of substance to say to her baby. It's the baby growing inside her that begins to wake her up, that causes her to start thinking about things in a different way. Yslea drifts into the lives of four people who occupy three dilapidated row houses along the train tracks outside of Memphis: "The way their three little row houses sort of leaned in toward each other and the way the paint peeled and some of the windows were covered with cardboard, the row might as easily have been empty."

The Visitation

The Visitation Author Frank E. Peretti
ISBN-10 9781418539085
Year 1999-05-07
Pages 528
Language en
Publisher Thomas Nelson Inc
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The sleepy, eastern Washington wheat town of Antioch has become a gateway for the supernatural—from sightings of angels and a weeping crucifix to a self-proclaimed prophet with an astounding message. The national media and the curious all flock to the little town—a great boon for local business but not for Travis Jordan. The burned-out former pastor has been trying to hide his past in Antioch. Now the whole world is headed to his backyard to find the Messiah, and in the process, every spiritual assumption he has ever held will be challenged. The startling secret behind this visitation ultimately pushes one man into a supernatural confrontation that has eternal consequences.

The Ghost Bride

The Ghost Bride Author Yangsze Choo
ISBN-10 9781471400780
Year 2013-08-01
Pages 400
Language en
Publisher Hot Key Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A haunting, evocative and highly unusual romantic debut Seventeen-year-old Li Lan lives in 1890s Malaya with her quietly-ruined father, who returns one evening with a proposition - the fabulously wealthy Lim family want Li Lan to marry their son. The only problem is, he's dead. After a fateful visit to the Lim mansion, Li Lan finds herself haunted not only by her ghostly would-be suitor, but also her desire for the Lims' handsome new heir. At night she is drawn into the Chinese afterlife - a world of ghost cities, paper funeral offerings, monstrous bureaucracy and vengeful spirits. Enlisting the help of mysterious Er Lang (a dragon turned clerk) Li Lan must uncover the secrets of the ghost world - before she becomes trapped there forever. Drawing on traditional Malayan folklore and superstition, THE GHOST BRIDE is a haunting, exotic and romantic read perfect for fans of EMPRESS ORCHID and MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA.

Visitation Street

Visitation Street Author Ivy Pochoda
ISBN-10 9780062249913
Year 2013-07-09
Pages 320
Language en
Publisher Harper Collins
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Chosen by Denis Lehane for his eponymous imprint, Ivy Pochoda’s Visitation Street is a riveting literary mystery set against the rough-hewn backdrop of the New York waterfront in Red Hook. It’s summertime in Red Hook, Brooklyn, a blue-collar dockside neighborhood. June and Val, two fifteen-year-olds, take a raft out onto the bay at night to see what they can see. And then they disappear. Only Val will survive, washed ashore; semi-conscious in the weeds. This shocking event will echo through the lives of a diverse cast of Red Hook residents. Fadi, the Lebanese bodega owner, hopes that his shop will be the place to share neighborhood news and troll for information about June’s disappearance. Cree, just beginning to pull it together after his father’s murder, unwittingly makes himself the chief suspect, but an enigmatic and elusive guardian is determined to keep him safe. Val contends with the shadow of her missing friend and a truth she buries deep inside. Her teacher Jonathan, a Julliard School dropout and barfly, wrestles with dashed dreams and a past riddled with tragic sins.